Tags

, , , , ,

Warning: This title may be a little misleading… I’ll explain.

I hadn’t been able to think what to blog about today, so I went to generatorland.com (pretty much the first result if you google “blog post idea generator”) to generate random ideas for me.

After clicking the “create” button several times and seeing things like “5 Things I like about 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter” and other relevant topics *sarcasm*, I found this: “7 Things I hate about Dr. Phil.”

Now, it’s not that I hate Dr. Phil, I just dislike him. I admit that I don’t know much about him and I don’t watch his show, but from what I’ve seen, he’s not someone I’d go to for advice. And I’ve got tons of evidence *sarcasm*:

1. Apparently he’s not even a doctor. Dr. Phil is just a stage name. Is he really licensed to do the things he’s doing?

2. It seems like he tends to exploit his guests to boost his own ratings.

Okay, that’s all I got for the people who were excited to see “hate” and “Dr. Phil” in the same sentence. I warned you…

The real reason I decided to go with the “7 Things I hate about Dr. Phil” topic instead of “5 Things I like about 8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter” was because it reminded me of TV talk shows (okay, there may be a couple other reasons too why I didn’t go with the other one). Talk shows have been something that’s been on my mind lately and I don’t know why.

It’s mostly been questions.

Why do some people go to a talk show for therapy?Why can’t they just go to a regular counselor? Does it really have to be Oprah? Does the audience know if they’re going to get free stuff in advance? If so, how do I sign up? What happens during the commercial break? Do they continue to talk? Fix makeup? Leave, eat lunch, come back? I don’t know.

As you can see the fascinating world of TV talk shows are very much a mystery to me, probably because I don’t watch them. So if any of you have answers to my random and possibly pointless questions, please share!

To leave you inspired, generatorland.com also has a Confucius quote generator. Remember:

A jester may never be comfortable with an old man’s elbow but must dance for a peacock

